Bosch Professional · India buying guide
Bosch GSR 120-LI vs GSR 12V-30 vs GSR12V-31
For drilling and screwdriving in a workshop, start with the work you do and the battery kit you need. The GSR 120-LI covers general drilling and screwdriving. The GSR 12V-30 and GSR12V-31 both have brushless motors; the GSR12V-31 also has a documented 144 mm head length. A larger model number alone is not a reason to change tools. [1], [2], [3]
Batteries, chargers and cases vary by kit. Check what’s included in the product option you choose.



Product images may show accessories that are not included. Check the product page for kit contents.
Quick choice by task
- Routine screws and holes in wood or metal: shortlist the GSR 120-LI if its kit meets your needs. Compare the full kit cost before choosing a tool-only alternative.
- A brushless drill for an existing compatible 12V setup: compare the GSR 12V-30 with the GSR12V-31. Battery and charger inclusion matter more than the word “Solo” alone.
- Access inside cabinets or other confined work areas: consider the GSR12V-31's stated 144 mm head length. Check the available space with the bit fitted; the tool's head length is not the full working clearance.
- Brick or concrete drilling: choose a tool specifically intended for that material and task. The GSR models compared here do not have the GSB models' impact-drilling function. [4], [5], [6]
The main specifications side by side
On a small screen, swipe or use the arrow keys in the table to compare all three models.
| Specification | GSR 120-LI | GSR 12V-30 | GSR12V-31 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery voltage class | 12V | 12V | 12V |
| Soft torque | 14 Nm | 18 Nm | 18 Nm |
| Hard torque | 30 Nm | 30 Nm | 31 Nm |
| First gear no-load speed | 0–400 rpm | 0–420 rpm | 0–420 rpm |
| Second gear no-load speed | 0–1,500 rpm | 0–1,600 rpm | 0–1,700 rpm |
| Maximum chuck capacity | 10 mm | 10 mm | 10 mm |
| Brushless motor confirmed by Bosch | Not stated in the sources checked | Yes | Yes |
| Battery charge indicator confirmed | Not stated in the sources checked | Yes | Yes |
Sources: [1], [4], [2], [5], [3], [7].
“Not stated” does not mean a feature is absent. Compare soft torque with soft torque and hard torque with hard torque. The GSR12V-31’s 50 Nm maximum is a separate rating from its 31 Nm hard torque, so it cannot be compared directly with the other models’ 30 Nm hard torque.
What the terms mean
- Torque, measured in Nm: the tool's turning effort. Soft and hard torque refer to different screwdriving test conditions; compare soft with soft, and hard with hard.
- No-load speed, measured in rpm: the rotation-speed rating without a drilling or screwdriving load. It is not a measurement of completed holes per minute.
- Chuck capacity: the size of the bit shank the chuck can hold. A 10 mm chuck does not mean every material can be drilled to a 10 mm maximum hole diameter.
- Brushless motor: a motor design that eliminates motor-brush wear. This does not make the whole tool maintenance-free. [2]
- Solo or tool-only: a description commonly used for a tool supplied without a battery and charger. Check the exact included-items list before ordering.
GSR 120-LI questions
GSR 120-LI do’s and don’ts
- Do: remove the battery before changing bits, and secure the workpiece with a clamp or vice.
- Don’t: change gears while the tool is running, or keep pressing the trigger after an automatic shut-off.
Read the full GSR 120-LI instructions before use. [4]
What work is the GSR 120-LI intended for?
Bosch identifies screwdriving and drilling in wood, metal, ceramic and plastic as intended uses. Use the appropriate accessory and follow the manual for the task. [4]
Does the GSR 120-LI come with two batteries?
The linked product page lists two GBA 12V 2.0 Ah batteries, a GAL 1210 CV charger and a case. Check that these are included in the option you select. View the Etool GSR 120-LI listing
GSR 12V-30 questions
GSR 12V-30 do’s and don’ts
- Do: use the torque ring’s screwdriving setting or drilling symbol for the task, and remove the battery before changing bits.
- Don’t: change gears while the tool is running or treat this GSR model as an impact drill.
Read the full GSR 12V-30 instructions before use. [5]
What changes from the GSR 120-LI?
The GSR 12V-30 has a brushless motor, 18 Nm soft torque and a second-gear no-load speed up to 1,600 rpm. Both models have a stated 30 Nm hard torque. [2]
Does the GSR 12V-30 have a battery indicator?
Yes. Its manual identifies a battery charge indicator and explains that it displays the charge state briefly when the trigger is pressed halfway. This feature is not exclusive to the GSR12V-31. [5]
Does Etool's Solo listing include a battery and charger?
This is listed as a Solo tool. Check whether a battery and charger are included, especially if you do not already own a compatible set. View the Etool GSR 12V-30 listing
GSR12V-31 questions
GSR12V-31 do’s and don’ts
- Do: remove the battery before changing bits. With the tool stopped, move the gear selector fully into its selected position.
- Don’t: use a damaged or modified battery, or change gears while the tool is running.
Read the full GSR12V-31 instructions before use. [8]
What is worth considering about the GSR12V-31?
The GSR12V-31 has a stated 144 mm head length, a brushless motor and a battery indicator. Its second-gear no-load speed is 1,700 rpm. For confined work, check the space needed with the bit fitted. [3]
Is it a 31 Nm drill or a 50 Nm drill?
The ratings are 31 Nm hard torque, 18 Nm soft torque and a separate 50 Nm maximum. Compare the same torque category across models. [7]
What comes with the Etool GSR12V-31?
The linked product page lists one GBA 12V 2.0 Ah battery, a GAL 12V-20 charger and a carrying case. Check that these are included in the option you select. View the Etool GSR12V-31 listing
Comparison questions
Which is the best value?
Compare the complete setup: tool, compatible battery, charger and any accessories you need. Check the product pages for current prices and what’s included.
Can I reuse my Bosch 12V battery?
Should I replace a working GSR 12V-30 with the GSR12V-31?
Not on these figures alone. Both have 18 Nm stated soft torque, brushless motors and charge indicators. Consider whether the GSR12V-31’s stated 144 mm head length helps with your work, then compare kit contents and total cost.
View the models
GSR 120-LI
GSR 12V-30 Solo
GSR12V-31
Both buttons open the product page; they do not add an item automatically.
Check the included batteries, charger and accessories on the product page. If you already own a battery system, match the battery and charger model numbers before buying.
Related browsing: Bosch tools, batteries and chargers, screwdriver bits. Check accessory compatibility before purchase.
Compared using Bosch India specifications. Reviewed 11 October 2026.
Sources
- Bosch GSR 120-LI (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch GSR 12V-30 (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch GSR12V-31 (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch GSR 120-LI manual, p7 (opens in a new tab)
- GSR 12V-30 manual, p8 (opens in a new tab)
- GSR12V-31 intended use (opens in a new tab)
- GSR12V-31 manual technical data (opens in a new tab)
- India-linked GSR12V-31 manual, pp7–10 (opens in a new tab)