Bosch Professional · India buying guide
Bosch GSB 183-LI vs GSB 185-LI vs GSB 18V-65 vs GSB 18V-150 C
Choose by material, hole diameter and the controls you need. The GSB 183-LI and GSB 185-LI have maximum drilling diameters of 35 mm in wood and 10 mm in steel and masonry. The GSB 18V-65 increases the steel and masonry limits to 13 mm and adds switchable KickBack Control. For larger holes, the GSB 18V-150 C offers limits of 150 mm in wood, 16 mm in steel and 20 mm in masonry, plus Electronic Angle Detection. These are capacity limits; drilling speed and performance depend on the job and setup. [1]. [2]. [3]. [4].
All four are Bosch Professional 18V cordless impact drill/drivers, also called combi drills. They have a keyless chuck and separate drilling, screwdriving and impact-drilling settings. The GSB 183-LI is available in several kit options.



18V impact drill/drivers
GSB 18V-65
13 mm steel and masonry limits, plus KickBack Control.
View product
18V impact drill/drivers
GSB 18V-150 C
Larger drilling capacities and Electronic Angle Detection.
View productCheck the product listing for included batteries, charger and accessories.
Quick choice by the job
- Wood, steel and masonry within 35/10/10 mm: compare the GSB 183-LI and GSB 185-LI. Both cover the same drilling diameters; the 185-LI has a brushless motor and a lower weight without battery.
- Steel or masonry holes above 10 mm and up to 13 mm: the GSB 18V-65 offers the next step in capacity, with a 35 mm wood limit, a 175 mm head length and switchable KickBack Control.
- Larger holes, up to 150 mm in wood, 16 mm in steel or 20 mm in masonry: consider the GSB 18V-150 C with its required auxiliary handle and a suitable ProCORE18V battery. Match the bit and drilling mode to the material.
- An angle aid for drilling or driving on a sloped surface: the GSB 18V-150 C offers Electronic Angle Detection. It helps with approximate orientation and does not replace a calibrated measuring instrument.
- Reinforced concrete, demolition or chiselling: choose a tool specifically approved for that task. These drills’ masonry limits do not establish suitability for reinforced concrete or every concrete grade, and they do not have a chiselling mode.
Specifications side by side
Published specifications are shown below. A dash marks a figure omitted because Bosch’s sources differ. “Not specified” means the value or feature is not confirmed in the linked Bosch documents.
| Specification | GSB 183-LI | GSB 185-LI | GSB 18V-65 | GSB 18V-150 C |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nominal battery voltage | 18 V | 18 V | 18 V | 18 V |
| Soft torque | — | 21 Nm | 31 Nm | 84 Nm |
| Hard torque | — | 50 Nm | 65 Nm | 100 Nm |
| Maximum torque (separately stated) | — | Not specified | — | 150 Nm |
| No-load speed, gear 1 | — | 0–500 rpm | 0–550 rpm | 0–550 rpm |
| No-load speed, gear 2 | — | 0–1,900 rpm | 0–2,100 rpm | 0–2,200 rpm |
| Maximum impact rate | 24,000 bpm | 27,000 bpm | 27,000 bpm | 30,000 bpm |
| Maximum wood drilling diameter | 35 mm | 35 mm | 35 mm | 150 mm |
| Maximum steel drilling diameter | 10 mm | 10 mm | 13 mm | 16 mm |
| Maximum masonry drilling diameter | 10 mm | 10 mm | 13 mm | 20 mm |
| Maximum screw diameter | 10 mm | 10 mm | 10 mm | 13 mm |
| Chuck clamping range | 1.5–13 mm | 1.5–13 mm | 1.5–13 mm | 1.5–13 mm |
| Screwdriving torque stages | 20 | 20 | 20 | 25 |
| Weight without battery | 1.2 kg | 0.99 kg | 1.12 kg | 2.2 kg |
| Brushless motor | Not specified | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Switchable KickBack Control | Not specified | Not specified | Yes | Yes |
| Electronic Angle Detection | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Yes |
[5]. [6]. [7]. [8]. [1]. [2]. [3]. [4]. [9].
Bosch’s rated figures use different batteries: GBA 18V 2.0Ah for the 183-LI and 185-LI, ProCORE18V 4.0Ah for the 18V-65, and ProCORE18V 8.0Ah for the 18V-150 C, all at 20–25°C. They are not a same-battery performance comparison. Weights exclude the battery; your working weight will depend on the pack fitted.
What the terms mean
- Torque, in newton-metres (Nm): rotational turning force. Soft torque, hard torque and maximum torque are different published categories, so compare like with like.
- No-load speed, in rpm: revolutions per minute with no drilling load. It does not tell you how quickly a particular loaded hole will finish.
- Impact rate, in bpm: blows per minute in impact-drilling mode. It is not the rotational speed and does not establish impact energy in joules.
- Drilling versus impact drilling: ordinary drilling rotates the accessory for work in wood, metal, ceramic and plastic. Impact drilling adds impact action for brick, masonry and stone. Use the correct bit and mode for the material.
- Chuck range versus hole size: 1.5–13 mm describes the shank the chuck can grip. It does not make every 13 mm hole permissible in every material. A reduced-shank accessory still has to obey the tool's drilling capacity and accessory instructions.
- Torque stages: adjustable screwdriving clutch settings, rather than calibrated Nm values. The 150 C has 25 torque stages plus separate operating modes; “25+2” does not mean 27 torque stages.
- Ah: battery capacity in ampere-hours. It is not charging current in amps and is not a guaranteed runtime for a particular job.
- Brushless: a type of motor construction. It does not by itself tell you drilling speed, runtime or whether a tool has KickBack Control.
See the manuals’ technical data and operation sections. [1]. [2]. [3]. [4].
GSB 183-LI: uses, FAQs and practical limits
Use it for screwdriving and drilling within its 35 mm wood, 10 mm steel and 10 mm masonry limits. Its Etool one- and two-battery offers are kit choices around the same model.
Is the GSB 183-LI more powerful than the GSB 185-LI?
Is the GSB 183-LI brushless or fitted with KickBack Control?
Bosch’s linked specifications do not confirm either feature for the 183-LI. It does have Electronic Cell Protection against deep discharge, an LED status indicator and temperature-dependent overload protection. These do not replace KickBack Control.
How should I choose a drilling mode?
Use ordinary drilling for wood, metal, ceramic and plastic, and impact drilling for brick, masonry and stone. Choose a suitable bit and stay within the tool’s capacity for that material.
Do's and don'ts for GSB 183-LI
- Do: choose the correct mode; use the torque ring for screwdriving; change gear only when the tool is not running.
- Do: let the tool cool if overload protection switches it off; read the LED status guidance.
- Don't: keep pressing the trigger after the battery protection circuit has automatically stopped the tool.
- Don't: assume electronic battery or overload protection prevents rotational kickback.
GSB 185-LI: uses, FAQs and practical limits
The brushless GSB 185-LI has the same maximum drilling diameters as the 183-LI: 35 mm in wood and 10 mm in steel and masonry. It reaches 1,900 rpm in second gear with no load and weighs 0.99 kg without battery.
Does a 13 mm chuck mean it drills 13 mm in steel or masonry?
No. The tool's steel and masonry limits are each 10 mm. The 13 mm number describes maximum chuck capacity.
What chuck and protection features does it have?
It has a metal keyless chuck with a 1.5–13 mm clamping range. LED indications show low-battery and device status, and temperature-dependent overload protection can reduce speed. Bosch’s linked manual does not confirm the Electronic Cell Protection name or KickBack Control for this model.
Is GAL 18V-20 included with the Etool kit?
Confirm the charger before ordering. Etool’s listing names GAL 18V-20, while Bosch’s current India variant lists GAL 18V-40. Check which model is supplied with the exact kit you choose.
Do's and don'ts for GSB 185-LI
- Do: follow the manual's low-battery/device-protection LED indications and use the correct screwdriving or drilling setting.
- Do: fully engage the gear selector while the tool is not running.
- Don't: force work when overload/temperature protection reduces speed; allow the permitted operating condition to return.
- Don't: infer KickBack Control from the brushless motor or general protection electronics.
GSB 18V-65: uses, FAQs and practical limits
The 18V-65 combines a 35 mm wood limit with 13 mm limits for steel and masonry. It has a brushless motor, 175 mm head length, dual worklights and switchable KickBack Control.
What torque does the GSB 18V-65 offer?
Bosch lists 65 Nm hard torque and 31 Nm soft torque. These are different screwdriving categories. The manual’s rated figures use a ProCORE18V 4.0Ah battery at 20–25°C.
What does KickBack Control do?
KickBack Control shuts the tool off if it suddenly and unexpectedly rotates around the drilling axis. It helps with control but is not an injury-prevention guarantee. Keep a firm grip, clamp the workpiece and use the correct drilling technique.
Can KickBack Control be switched off?
Yes. The manual describes its button and status LEDs. The function reactivates after more than five minutes without use or removal of the battery. A faulty KickBack Control function requires qualified service; do not treat a protective shutdown as permission to force the accessory.
Do's and don'ts for GSB 18V-65
- Do: check the KickBack Control status and keep a firm grip; follow the manual after a shutdown.
- Do: use a universal bit holder for screwdriver bits, as instructed in this manual.
- Don't: look directly into the worklights.
- Don't: exceed 13 mm steel/masonry or 35 mm wood limits, or confuse KickBack Control with Electronic Angle Detection.
GSB 18V-150 C: uses, FAQs and practical limits
The 18V-150 C offers the largest drilling and screw capacities in this group, a metal chuck and gearbox, switchable KickBack Control and Electronic Angle Detection. Use it only with the specified auxiliary handle, 1 602 025 07Y, fitted and tightened.
Is 150 Nm its hard torque?
No. Bosch lists 84 Nm soft, 100 Nm hard and 150 Nm maximum torque. The manual's rated figures use ProCORE18V 8.0Ah; Bosch recommends ProCORE18V batteries of at least 5.5Ah for maximum performance.
Is Electronic Angle Detection a precise levelling tool?
No. EAD indicates an approximate selected angle relative to a taught-in surface. The manual explicitly gives it no defined measuring accuracy comparable with a measuring tool. Surface condition, tool alignment and production tolerances affect it.
Does the “C” mean Bluetooth is included?
Connectivity requires the GCY 42 module. The “C” suffix does not confirm that the module is supplied with Etool’s solo kit, so check the exact listing before ordering.
Do's and don'ts for GSB 18V-150 C
- Do: fit and tighten the exact specified auxiliary handle before operation; the manual prohibits operation without it.
- Do: use the material-appropriate accessory within the documented capacity, and keep its shank within the chuck range.
- Don't: treat EAD as a calibrated angle meter or KickBack Control as an injury-prevention guarantee.
- Don't: assume any compatible 18 V battery delivers the documented maximum performance.
Comparison FAQs
Is the GSB 185-LI automatically a stronger upgrade from the GSB 183-LI?
Does the GSB 18V-65 replace the need for the 18V-150 C?
Can I use the same batteries across all four?
Are these impact drivers, impact wrenches or SDS hammers?
Can a concrete-rated bit prove the drill is suitable for every concrete job?
No. A bit’s material rating does not increase the drill’s capacity or intended use. These manuals specify impact drilling in brick, masonry and stone; they do not establish suitability for every concrete grade or reinforced concrete. Bosch’s CYL guidance also distinguishes impact drilling in full brick from rotary drilling in brittle hollow brick. Follow both the tool and bit instructions. [11]. [1]. [2]. [3]. [4].
Does the most expensive kit offer the best value?
Compare the complete kit against what you need. Check battery quantity and capacity, charger model, case and accessories before comparing total cost. A solo tool and a two-battery kit are different purchases.
Choose the right kit
Check the exact product listing for battery quantity and Ah, charger model, case and accessories. Similar model names and product photos can represent different kits.
Before ordering: confirm the GSB 185-LI charger model: Etool names GAL 18V-20, while Bosch’s India variant lists GAL 18V-40. For the GSB 18V-65, check battery and charger inclusion separately. For the 18V-150 C, confirm the required auxiliary handle is supplied and check the case and GCY 42 module. [6]. [4].
Explore the Etool listings
Check current price, availability and kit contents on the product page. Both Buy Now and Add to Cart below open that page.
GSB 183-LI
- GSB 183-LI two-battery kit (NEW): Buy Now · Add to Cart
- GSB 183-LI one-battery listing: Buy Now · Add to Cart
- GSB 183-LI two-battery listing: Buy Now · Add to Cart
GSB 185-LI
- GSB 185-LI kit: Buy Now · Add to Cart
GSB 18V-65
- GSB 18V-65 cordless impact drill/driver: Buy Now · Add to Cart
GSB 18V-150 C
- GSB 18V-150 C solo listing: Buy Now · Add to Cart
Batteries and accessories
Match batteries, chargers and accessories to the tool, material, shank size and hole diameter. Check the exact product version before ordering.
- GBA 18V 2.0Ah: part of the compatible Professional 18V battery family. For the 150 C’s maximum performance, follow Bosch’s ProCORE18V battery recommendation. [12].
- GAL 18V-40: a charger for Professional 18V batteries. Check the exact charger version and mains supply requirements. [13].
- ProCORE18V 8.0Ah: the battery used for the 150 C manual’s rated performance figures. Enquire about availability. [14]. [4].
- CYL-3 2608597660: a 6 mm cylindrical-shank bit with a 60 mm working length and 100 mm overall length. Check that both the drill and bit suit the material and drilling mode. [11].
- PointTeQ 2608577347: a seven-piece 2–10 mm cylindrical-shank set for rotary metal drilling. Use without impact mode. [15].
- Auxiliary handle 160202507Y: required for the GSB 18V-150 C. Make sure it is fitted and tightened before operating the tool. [4].
- Bosch GBA 18V 2.0Ah Battery-Packs: Buy Now · Add to Cart
- Bosch GAL 18V-40 Charger: Buy Now · Add to Cart
- Bosch ProCore 8.0Ah battery (18V) Battery Packs: Enquire
Compared using Bosch India specifications. Reviewed 11 October 2026.
Sources
- GSB 183-LI exact manual, 1 609 92A 9YR (28 June 2024) (opens in a new tab)
- GSB 185-LI exact manual, 1 609 92A 8JU (3 February 2023) (opens in a new tab)
- GSB 18V-65 exact manual, 1 609 92A 9ZA (1 October 2024) (opens in a new tab)
- GSB 18V-150 C exact manual, 1 609 92A 9D2 (12 March 2024) (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India GSB 183-LI (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India GSB 185-LI (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India GSB 18V-65 (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India GSB 18V-150 C (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India 2026 catalogue, printed pp16–17 (PDF pp17–18) (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India 2025 catalogue, printed/PDF p17 (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India CYL-3, exact product options (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India GBA 18V 2.0Ah (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India GAL 18V-40 (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India ProCORE18V 8.0Ah (opens in a new tab)
- Bosch India PointTeQ, exact 2608577347 option (opens in a new tab)